Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Quick question(s) - Brushed ESC

Old 05-11-2011, 07:33 AM
  #1  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default Quick question(s) - Brushed ESC

I recently acquired my first plane with a brushed motor - by accident (long story).

Manufacturer recommends 'at least 10A' ESC. I was planning on getting a 15A. But I have a few quick questions.

Do I have to do anything different, other than using a brushed ESC? Different Rx / servos / etc.?

With the proper ESC, I'm able to use lipos, correct?

Is this a brushed ESC? How can I tell?
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXKZZ0&P=0

Forgive my ignorance; it's been all brushless for me up 'till now.
mclarkson is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 07:49 AM
  #2  
crxmanpat
Community Moderator
 
crxmanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Crawfordville, FL
Posts: 6,966
Default

Yes, the ESC you chose is a brushed ESC. Either GWS or an old Castle Creations Pixie 20P are about the only brushed ESCs you'll find anymore.

The main difference between a brushed ESC and brushless is that a brushed ESC only has 2 wires to the motor instead of 3.

If you click on the Tech Notes, you'll see all the specs on that ESC. It can handle up to 3S lipo, but you will need to make sure the motor can handle the volts. Most of the larger brushed motors (like a 480 or bigger) can handle 3S for a while, but it will burn out eventually.

Is there any chance you can switch out the brushed motor for a brushless? Eventually the brushed motor will die, and you'd have to replace it anyway.
crxmanpat is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 09:27 AM
  #3  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

Thanks for the info!

I can switch it out for a brushless but I'm planning on flying it for a while with the brushed motor since that's what I've got.

This motor is a 370 with a gearbox. (Here's the plane.) I'm planning on running 1300 mAh 3S batteries, mainly because that's what I've got lying around. Is that a horrible idea?
mclarkson is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:19 AM
  #4  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,269
Default

Originally Posted by mclarkson View Post
Thanks for the info!

I can switch it out for a brushless but I'm planning on flying it for a while with the brushed motor since that's what I've got.

This motor is a 370 with a gearbox. (Here's the plane.) I'm planning on running 1300 mAh 3S batteries, mainly because that's what I've got lying around. Is that a horrible idea?
you will be fine using the 3 cell lipo on that geared brush motor, you dont want to use a 3 cell lipo with a direct drive brush motor, that will burn it up real quick

http://www.towerhobbies.com/products...tra4322_e.html

<SCRIPT src="http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti6011p?I=LXLHU5"></SCRIPT>
stock#
LXLHU5
Only
<SCRIPT src="http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti6000p?&I=LXLHU5"></SCRIPT>$59.99
Stock Status:
<SCRIPT src="http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti6001p?&I=LXLHU5"></SCRIPT>In Stock
<SCRIPT src="http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti6009p?&I=LXLHU5"></SCRIPT> Tech Notes Accessories Needed


if (AC_FL_RunContent == 0) { alert("This page requires AC_RunActiveContent.js."); } else { AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase', 'http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,0,0', 'width', '550', 'height', '400', 'src', 'gpmz4111', 'quality', 'high', 'pluginspage', 'http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer', 'align', 'middle', 'play', 'true', 'loop', 'true', 'scale', 'showall', 'wmode', 'window', 'devicefont', 'false', 'id', 'gpmz4111', 'bgcolor', '#ffffff', 'name', 'gpmz4111', 'menu', 'true', 'allowFullScreen', 'true', 'allowScriptAccess','sameDomain', 'movie', 'gpmz4111', 'salign', '' ); //end AC code }</script>Click the picture to view video
-->

The celebrated Bearcat is reborn as an amazing air race favorite with the 34” span 1/12 Scale Rare Bear EP ARF from Thunder Tiger! Features a 370-size motor, crash-tough foam construction, a factory-painted cowl and spinner, a 3-blade prop, sponsor logo decals and more.
  • 0.08 in. (2 mm) dia. wire main/tail gear – can be fixed or retracted.
  • Ultra-light 1.9 in. (48 mm) foam main wheels; 0.75 in. (19 mm) rubber tailwheel.
  • 3-blade propeller.
  • Factory-painted spinner.
  • Comprehensive hardware package.
  • Two detailed logo decal sheets.
  • Epoxy glue.
  • Flight-ready in several hours.
  • Limited manufacturer’s warranty.
  • Designed for intermediate/advanced pilots, with tough EPS foam construction.
  • One-piece foam wings.
  • 370-size motor with leads and red JST connector.
  • 4:1 ratio gearbox.
  • The radio compartment, which can be accessed over the wing, includes plywood servo mounts.
  • Plastic cowl, factory-painted in gold.
  • Clear, single canopy.
  • Single-servo aileron control.


Specifications
Wingspan: 34 in (864 mm) Wing Area: 221 in˛ (14.3 dm˛) Weight: 17.5 oz (496 g) Length: 29.8 in (756 mm)
Requirements: 3-4 channel radio with mini receiver and two sub-micro servos, 10A (min.) ESC, 8-cell 600mAh NiMH or 2-3 cell (2-3S) LiPo battery, Battery charger, Building
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:26 AM
  #5  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

Thanks, just double-checking. If I'd been more careful in the first place, I wouldn't have a brushed motor. Didn't want to compound the error by missing something stupid.

I'll run it 'till it quits.
mclarkson is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:30 AM
  #6  
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 19,269
Default

Originally Posted by mclarkson View Post
Thanks, just double-checking. If I'd been more careful in the first place, I wouldn't have a brushed motor. Didn't want to compound the error by missing something stupid.

I'll run it 'till it quits.
The brush motor is fine, we just all got spoiled with the brushless motors LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 03:47 AM
  #7  
Dr Kiwi
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,726
Default

The motor may not last long at the very high RPM it will be turning on 3s... but so what!

I'd be more concerned about having a JST connector on it... those are rated for 2A... can survive 5A... but tend to melt beyond that.
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 04:00 AM
  #8  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

I'm gonna have to change connectors on the motor and/or ESC anyways. I'll prolly go with small bullet connectors (or wire nuts.)
mclarkson is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 04:56 AM
  #9  
Bub Steve
Super Contributor
 
Bub Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shadeville Fl,
Posts: 7,189
Default

Originally Posted by mclarkson View Post
I'm gonna have to change connectors on the motor and/or ESC anyways. I'll prolly go with small bullet connectors (or wire nuts.)
solder those bullets , wire nuts will be trouble:
Bub Steve is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 06:51 AM
  #10  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

Thanks. I always run a timer ... although sometimes I forget to start it. Or start it, think I forgot, and then stop it while trying to start it. Or accidentally set it to 'up' rather than 'down.' Or ...

All I have are 3S lipos, except for some tiny little ones. A quick test fit/jam of a 1300mAh 3S against the firewall balances pretty close. I'm currently disinclined to buy new batteries just for this plane.

And, with a brushed ESC, the voltage going to the motor varies with the throttle, correct? So I can reduce wear and tear by just going easy on the gas, correct?
mclarkson is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 02:18 AM
  #11  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

Anyone ever use the GWS 15A brushed ESC? It comes with a heat sink and what appears to be a super-thin sheet of rubber, the exact size of the heat sink. Any idea what the rubber sheet is? Is there adhesive hidden in there or something?
mclarkson is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 11:00 PM
  #12  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

Nada, huh? Well, not knowing what else to do, I just epoxied the sink onto the FET.
mclarkson is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
CHELLIE
Hi-Performance and Sailplanes
2015
05-28-2020 10:50 PM
spaten
Power Systems
5
04-23-2011 12:11 AM
Hose Man
Beginners
2
02-06-2011 02:42 AM
spaten
Beginners
6
01-09-2011 04:07 AM
spaten
Power Systems
21
12-31-2010 12:20 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Quick Reply: Quick question(s) - Brushed ESC


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10964 seconds with 11 queries