Castle Creations discussion All things Castle

Castle Creations Thunderbird 54 and 4cell?

Old 07-09-2009, 08:17 AM
  #1  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
Thread Starter
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default Castle Creations Thunderbird 54 and 4cell?

Hi Guys A flying buddy was wondering if he could use his Thunderbird 54 Esc on 4cells if he added a seperate BEC, I've looked pretty much everywhere and came up empty handed... Has anyone try'ed this?

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 12:28 PM
  #2  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,593
Default

Did you check the Castle website? Says right there that the Thunderbird line is only good to 3s.

http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...nderbirds.html
firemanbill is offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 12:56 PM
  #3  
Louis
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 391
Default

...

Last edited by Louis; 08-22-2009 at 08:09 PM.
Louis is offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 05:28 PM
  #4  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
Thread Starter
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

Hi Guy's.... Yes I checked in the reg places like vendor specs... however there are a lot of esc's out on the market that say 3cell but will do 4cell if you add a seperate bec, I was just wondering if that was the case with these...

Has anyone tryd it?

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 07:34 AM
  #5  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

When Castle says the max voltage is 15 volts thats what they mean. Thats the point above which the smoke comes out.

4S lipos have a voltage of 16.8 volts fresh off the charger.

It will most likely be smokeville if you try it on 4S.

The Castle BEC's are only rated to 3S due to over heating of the BEC if you try to use it with 4S. That has nothing to do with the max voltage rating of the power fets.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 02:26 PM
  #6  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

Originally Posted by ministeve2003 View Post

Has anyone tryd it?

SK
Yes a number have tried it - and they report good initial results.

Not sure if they cook after a while, but I have not personally tried it.

Mike
rcers is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 02:51 PM
  #7  
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
Posts: 20,593
Default

Exactly Mike, I made a big boo boo when I first set up my Shoestring conversion. I had a Phoenix 60 ESC and was initially going to run a 6s. Upon realizing I did not have enough power I went up to an 8s and got exactly what I was looking for, still using the Phoenix 60 which was only rated at 6s. It worked fine, no issues at all, counted all 8 cells and everything. A kind soul pointed out to me what I was doing and I immediately changed it out for a HV type ESC.

It may have only lasted one more flight, or may have never burned out, who knows, but why take the chance? Use the right ESC for the job at hand. Better safe than sorry.

Nothing worse than seeing a smoke trail from an electric plane while in flight!
firemanbill is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 03:17 PM
  #8  
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 7,061
Default

Most electronics can tolerate over amping, even to a large degree, for at least a while fairly well. You heat them up, they cool down and are fine.

Over voltage, more often than not kills them instantly. Even if it doesnt smoke instantly, it damages them over time.

Keep in mind too that if your pack is older or has low C rateing (hi Ir in other words) or if you have long leads or a poor connection between battery and esc, that you will be generating higher voltage spikes that can easily push an esc thats close to the edge into the smoke mode.
Larry3215 is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 04:46 PM
  #9  
ministeve2003
Class Clown
Thread Starter
 
ministeve2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montclair, California
Posts: 4,472
Default

thanks guy's I'll let him weight the consequeses... We we prob only going to run it at about 35amps max So I don't think Heat would be too much of an issue, but... as They say... those are the chances we take playing around...

SK
ministeve2003 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
rsd53
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
0
11-02-2008 12:02 PM
Liquidity
Basement Bargains
2
07-12-2008 03:18 AM
rtheiss1
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
2
01-04-2008 04:10 PM
Pale Rider
Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB
9
04-18-2006 03:04 AM
flismall
Power Systems
16
12-09-2005 01:51 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Castle Creations Thunderbird 54 and 4cell?


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.07451 seconds with 13 queries