I need a real time video system for my Radian - WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

Aerial Photography Discuss all aerial photography topics as they relate to rc aircraft

I need a real time video system for my Radian

Old 07-12-2011, 12:03 PM
  #1  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,827
Cool I need a real time video system for my Radian

Want to make an airborn search plane out of my Radian

I don't know if this is the right place to ask but let's give it a try.

I want to create a search plane for finding lost models. I want to use my Parkzone Radian as the platform.

I would need a real time video system for my Radian that would allow me to search for planes that have gone down in the woods by flying over them and looking down. Usually the planes land on top of trees, bushes or in open spaces that should be visable from the sky.

I am NOT looking for a video camera that records for view later. That would not be helpful.

I am NOT looking for a FPV capability. I will fly the Radian in the normal fashion. Someone else will view the video as I fly the Radian. I don't neeed video glasses or anything like that.

I would need a video system that would transmit back to my laptop or some kind of monitor device. Medium res is probably adequate. Figure I need about 1000 foot or more range as I will mostly be looking for RC gliders and we tend to fly high and far out over woods.

This would only look down. I don't need pan or zoom features.

Total weight could be as much as 6 ounces but clearly lighter is better. I would want it to be able to remove it easily. Ideal would be something that I could clip under a wing or tape to the side that looks straight down.

Color would probably be best, but sound would not be needed.

Today we put $150 radio beacons in our big gliders that require a $400 radio direction finder called a walston. The club owns the Walston. But if you don't have a Walston or forgot to put it in the plane you may be looking for the plane for days. And some of these planes cost over $2000. And sometimes we are looking or a newbie's Radian or similar plane and there is no way he is putting a $150 radio beacon in his plane. And even with the Walston it can take some time to find the planes.

I have no other purpose for this other than to find lost models. This is not for FPV flying of the Radian. The lower the price the better as I hope to not need to use it too much.

I have seen systems that cost under $100 on 900 mhz that have about 300 foot ranges. I have also seen systems on 2.4 that claim 700 foot ranges. and there are boosters to give them greater range.

Those might work. But I have no experience with them. Will they interfere with the 2.4 GHz Spektrum DSM2 system in my Radian? How about a 72 MHz system?

I would appreciate any suggestions you could provide.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 11:40 PM
  #2  
tobydogs
love to build!
 
tobydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nj usa
Posts: 3,692
Default

ed,did you check the hobbyking fpv's,they have a lot to choose from but i don't know anything about fpv....

i will try to post a link that doesn't blow the borders on your thread.....








> Telemetry & FPV > FPV

RATED:PRODUCT ID: CP100024RX12T2.4GHZ 1000mW Tx/Rx & 1/3-inch CCD Camera PAL
tobydogs is offline  
Old 07-13-2011, 01:40 AM
  #3  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,827
Default

I did, but I don't know anything about them. I was hopeful someone would give me some practical advice.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 07-13-2011, 03:16 AM
  #4  
tobydogs
love to build!
 
tobydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nj usa
Posts: 3,692
Default

i can see how real time is important,to be flying over a site .with only videoing might make pin pointing the ares harder.trees all look alike from above. we used to do video searches over the marshes in moonachie NJ. i don't know the success rate was.but the terrain was more easy to track from the air.

streams, islands ,trees,marsh grass...ect..ect..so video worked,but if a bird goes down in a forest of tree tops,it would be tough to decide which tree you spotted it in.

I'm hoping to hear from others on how those hk cameras work,they seem very affordable. if the reciver hooks up to a laptop that would be great!
tobydogs is offline  
Old 07-13-2011, 04:19 AM
  #5  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

I think resolution might be your biggest issue, as most affordable cameras are only 640x480. You *can* put a GoPro Hero on there and tap its video out...
mclarkson is offline  
Old 07-13-2011, 05:28 AM
  #6  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,827
Default

OK, let's assume I want to give the HK video stuff a try. What do I buy?

How do I hook it up to a laptop or to a TV screen or a computer monitor?

Do I need any pieces that HK is not offering?


Does anyone know of a set-up on e-bay or some other source where you can say, But this, this and this and you will need to add this.

This is not an area of general interst to me, so I am not really looking to read a bunch of manuals to become knowledgable in the field. This is like a hammer. I don't want to study hammers, just want to buy one so I can drive nails now and then.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 03:56 AM
  #7  
starcad
Model Designer
 
starcad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 584
Default

If your going to do it then do it right and stay away from the junk on eBay. There is a lot more to this than just buying the parts to make it work. For me the GoPro was the way to go and I haven't looked back. I use a Sky Walker as it is by far one of the best platforms I have used. But, Here is the place you want to ask your questions.
starcad is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 10:53 PM
  #8  
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 3,958
Default

I was watching this thread with interest, hoping to piggy-back off the advice but there hasn't been much.
mclarkson is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 11:48 AM
  #9  
wing man9
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Default

better yet check this out http://rangevideo.com/forum/showthread.php?p=16154 groupbuy !
wing man9 is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:11 PM
  #10  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,827
Default

Thanks. I think I am going to back off this idea for a while.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 03:06 PM
  #11  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Hey there Ajear. Mclarkson was correct, the hardest part will be having good enough resolution for it to be of value to you. For something of this nature, some people are using the FPV for guiding the plane, and use something like the GoPro camera for image capture and review upon returning.

*Disclaimer* To be legal to use the equipment you are required to have an amateur radio license.


Now, were you to go this route anyhow. There's a few basics you'll need. You need a video transmitter and a video receiver, an antenna, a viewing system, and a way to power each.

When choosing the system, there's a couple things to consider. One is cost, how much do you want to spend, and another is range, how far do you want to go. One effects the other.


A really basic system, like what I use, is a 900 mHz transmitter, (wattage helps determine range. I use 200 watts for what I'm doing, but 500 might be a good "safe" range.) and the matching receiver. I have a 7" tv (if you're searching for something, you might look into a 15" or larger.) There's a school of thought that it's better to have better reception than transmission. So a quality antenna will be something you might want to add. The included omni whip antennas are good for short range. Imagine a table lamp, and the area it lights up, this is about how a whip antenna works (except directly over the antenna would be a dead spot). There's directional antennas, like patch, or yagi, and they work more like flashlights. More range distance wise, but they have to be pointed at the object you're trying to light.

What I would consider to be a bare bones, "economy" system would be this...

this gives you a basic camera, tx, and rx.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ra%5FNTSC.html

a patch antenna

http://www.l-com.com/item.aspx?id=22368

you need an adaptor from the N fitting to the F connection on the receiver.

http://www.wpsantennas.com/971128-nm...leadapter.aspx

You'll need a barrel connector or two (I cut some off from old power adaptors/chargers) to power the rx. I used a 3s2200 battery that had puffed some, and I didn't trust for planes. You'll also need a way to power the tv if it doesn't have it's own battery like mine. A power inverter and a battery, or connection to your car will work. You might find the camera to not be up to your requirements. There's lots of people using the gopro to transmit signal at the lower resolution and record at high resolution. It's one way to get around having to carry two cameras.

Of course you can go up from there, a better tx antenna (recommended). A higher quality rx/tx system (not sure who actually has one, or if the higher priced places use the same electronics, just put their name and price increase on it). A diversity system that allows you to use two types of ground antenna, switching from one to the other depending on signal strength. Or even an on screen display system, which gives you GPS, speed, altitude, heading, etc.

Good luck if you decide to go forth with this. There's lots to digest.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 03:31 PM
  #12  
AEAJR
Community Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,827
Default

Flyingmonkey, that was extremely helpful. Basically you laid out exactly what I would want to know and gave some good low cost examples. Very very helpful.

Thank you very much.
AEAJR is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 02:45 AM
  #13  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

On a semi related side note...

Ground station

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RG76qShdKuU[/media]

Video Transmitter

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGp1uD0xiYU&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL[/media]

Making your own antennas

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2m169lcBYs[/media]



FPV fun...

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHy6q6hG-Zo[/media]

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sJ9AZilcIpM[/media]

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dbiMdjpDt9M[/media]
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:22 AM
  #14  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default

Check out rangevideo.com I have a 500mw. 2.4 system and it works great.
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:27 AM
  #15  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default

Easycap will allow you to get the videonto your laptop, it is usb based video capture.
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:36 AM
  #16  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

Originally Posted by HeliScRapYard View Post
Check out rangevideo.com I have a 500mw. 2.4 system and it works great.
Obviously if you're flying a 2.4 system you won't want to use this for your FPV system.

The other popular option is use a 900 mHz package, or use 72mHz for your flight control.
FlyingMonkey is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:48 AM
  #17  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default

That is true. I forgot to mention that. And I use a patch antenna. I fly on 72 mhz
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 09-12-2011, 08:09 PM
  #18  
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Question easycap issues

Originally Posted by HeliScRapYard View Post
Easycap will allow you to get the videonto your laptop, it is usb based video capture.
Hey HeliSCRapYard

I bought the easycap DC60 not knowing it won't work with windows 7, I've been trying to load the drivers (off the net/disk etc) and still cannot get it to work,.... well it worked the first time I set it up , now nothing, the comp does not reconize it and windows shuts it down due to an error code # bla bla. The system I have Click image for larger version

Name:	2,4-ghz-500mw-transmitter-receiver pic.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	174.1 KB
ID:	152869 for video works great, just need to get it coming through the laptop for recording/viewing.

Which easycap do you have is it the dc60 or dc60+ ?
Does it have gold colored rca plugs?
What color is the text on the unit itself?

Any Help,.........................................Than ks

Ohh by the way if you can check out this flyer for the Flying Tigers Fly-in
you can make this one,...... later



sep24.pdf
FlyingBrick50 is offline  
Old 09-12-2011, 11:49 PM
  #19  
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 811
Default

hey!

I dont Have a clue which version i have, it has silver on the plugs and the text on the unit is white. i just bought a version of roxio creator 2011 which came with a USB video Capture device on ebay for $62. I Havent got to try it yet but it works on WIndows 7. That may be a better solution if it comes down to something new. they also have a cheaper package that the USB device comes in it is called Roxio Easy VHS to DVD. will Look into seeing if i can make it down to the fly in. hope that was a little help.
HeliScRapYard is offline  
Old 09-14-2011, 02:38 AM
  #20  
Rolling Thunder
Keep the sunny side up
 
Rolling Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: victorville california
Posts: 1,879
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
Hey HeliSCRapYard

I bought the easycap DC60 not knowing it won't work with windows 7, I've been trying to load the drivers (off the net/disk etc) and still cannot get it to work,.... well it worked the first time I set it up , now nothing, the comp does not reconize it and windows shuts it down due to an error code # bla bla. The system I have Attachment 152869 for video works great, just need to get it coming through the laptop for recording/viewing.
Attachment 152870
dont know if this helps but when my camera battery gets low my computer wont recognize it
Rolling Thunder is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:07 PM
  #21  
FlyingMonkey
Flite Test Fan
 
FlyingMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 32459
Posts: 8,930
Default

http://www.flitetest.com/articles/simple-fpv

FlyingMonkey is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AEAJR
Hi-Performance and Sailplanes
26
07-23-2011 04:27 AM
flyboy_fx
Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft
21
05-11-2011 01:35 AM
hankg
General Electric Discussions
11
01-17-2011 03:58 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: I need a real time video system for my Radian


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.10127 seconds with 12 queries