General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Servo testing

Old 02-26-2011, 03:02 AM
  #1  
crobar
Member
Thread Starter
 
crobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 85
Default Servo testing

Does anyone have a simple way to test servos without a receiver before installing them? What kind of power source etc.
crobar is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 03:11 AM
  #2  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by crobar View Post
Does anyone have a simple way to test servos without a receiver before installing them? What kind of power source etc.

I've designed and built up several servo testers over the years, using a microcontroller. Circuitry is quite simple, microcontroller is not. It must be programmed. But the circuitry is simple as it can get.

I think there are several servo test units in the internet, you might try googling servo tester and see what you get.

Found this one:
http://www.york-electronics.com/
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 03:18 AM
  #3  
BEAR-AvHistory
RDRC
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC USA
Posts: 599
Default

About $5 - will do 3 at a time

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8296
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 03:20 AM
  #4  
rcers
Super Contributor
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,314
Default

+1 - I use the York servo tester. It saves me countless hours of work on servo setup. They are great for finding binds, improper linkage setup, proper control throws so many things. It is fantastic, worth three times what it costs.

I also like that I can use it to cycle new servos for 5 minutes or so. It is a great test feature.

I don't know why more folks don't use them.

Mike
rcers is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 03:41 AM
  #5  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Same here. I use the servo tester and hook it up to a little 5 volt wall wart I had laying around. I soldered a servo connector on the end of the wall wart lead so it plugs right in to the servo tester.

Here's the one I use. $8.41 with free shipping.

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/e-sky-e...icopters-15594

Last edited by Grasshopper; 02-26-2011 at 03:59 AM.
Grasshopper is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 04:01 AM
  #6  
kyleservicetech
Super Contributor
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,952
Default

Originally Posted by Grasshopper View Post
Same here. I use the servo tester and hook it up to a little 5 volt wall wart I had laying around. I soldered a servo connector on the end of the wall wart lead so it plugs right in to the servo tester.

Just a note:
For other wattflyer readers, make certain that wall wart has a regulated 5 volt DC output. Some of them are nothing more than a transformer, with a bridge rectifier and capacitor. The output voltage of these things vary all over the map, depending on servo loading. They could exceed the safe maximum voltage rating of your servos.

Easy to check, just plug in the wall wart, and put a digital voltmeter across the units output wires. If its output is regulated at five volts, you should measure 5.0 volts DC. If it's 6 or 7 volts, or more, don't use it on servos.
kyleservicetech is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 04:01 AM
  #7  
Wildflyer
Past President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 2,194
Default

I use this one http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...7&pid=D0736126

It has 4 AA batteries inside, but you can power it externally.

It has more features than just moving servos, it can measure the pulse coming out of your rec. and will read RPM, + others,-- total 7 things

Mine is so handy while setting up a plane, that it lives in a drawer just under the counter.
Wildflyer is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 04:03 AM
  #8  
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,070
Default

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
Just a note:
For other wattflyer readers, make certain that wall wart has a regulated 5 volt DC output. Some of them are nothing more than a transformer, with a bridge rectifier and capacitor. The output voltage of these things vary all over the map, depending on servo loading. They could exceed the safe maximum voltage rating of your servos.

Easy to check, just plug in the wall wart, and put a digital voltmeter across the units output wires. If its output is regulated at five volts, you should measure 5.0 volts DC. If it's 6 or 7 volts, or more, don't use it on servos.
Thanks for the tip. I'll have to check that out. I've been using it for a couple of years with no problems but that doesn't I haven't just been lucky.
Grasshopper is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lakeside1000
Delta & Flying Wings
9
12-29-2011 05:49 PM
terrynshed
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
0
02-04-2011 09:33 AM
nz builder
Indoor & Micro Electric Planes
1
02-02-2011 07:14 AM
terrynshed
Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB
0
11-19-2010 08:48 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Quick Reply: Servo testing


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.09975 seconds with 13 queries