Delta & Flying Wings Discuss electric powered delta (flying wing) style aircraft here.

HK Teksumo ... questions

Old 06-19-2016, 04:46 PM
  #1  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default HK Teksumo ... questions

Ok ... so I've knocked up the HK Teksumo wing and have following :

10gr inset into right wing tip to get lateral balance ...
30gr in battery slot to balance with a 2200 3S 25C LiPo
Emax CF2822 1200kv motor + adaptor and 7x6 TGC prop....

Spec.
Weight: 39g (with wire & sticker etc)
Shaft: 3mm
Motor Length: 46mm
Diameter: 28mm
Stator Size: 22x10mm
Suggested prop: 9~10inch
Voltage: 11.1v (3S)
Kv: 1200RPM/V

Data ;
Prop size: 10x5
RPM: 7100
Max Curr: 14.5A
Thrust: 710g (1.51lb)

Prop size: 10x4.7 SF
RPM: 6100
Max Curr: 14.5A
Thrust: 745g (1.64lb)

Thrust seems pretty good on the 7x6 but nothing to get excited about ... so she'll fly OK.
I don't really want to go bigger on prop as an 8" is about the sensible max I reckon ...
But it seems a bit weak and even spec's indicate only about 150+ Watts.

AUW incl. 2200 LiPo is about 490gr ... the 7x6 prop ? probably pushing about 600gr thrust if that ...

I have following motors spare :

AXN Floater-Jet Replacement Motor AXN 2208 2150k

Specs.
RPM/V: 2150kv
Max Watts: 180w
Max Amps: 20A
Max Volts: 11.1 (3s)
Turns: 16t
Resistance: 0.085Rm
Magnet type: N45SH
Idle Current: 1.52A
Shaft: 3mm
Weight: 44.0g
Suggested Prop: 5x5 / 6x4

or

Turnigy D2826-6 2200kv Outrunner Motor

Specs:
Rpm/V: 2200kv
Shaft: 3.17mm
Voltage: 2S~3S (7.4v to 11.1v)
Weight: 50g
Watts: 342w
Max Current: 34A
ESC: 40A
Suggested Prop: 7x4(2S) ~ 5x5 (3S)
Mounting Hole Bolt Circle: 16mm or 19mm

Would you change to either of those or keep the Emax on there ?

Checking on eCalc shows the eMax to be poor !

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 06-20-2016, 01:10 AM
  #2  
quorneng
Super Contributor
 
quorneng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 1,942
Default

solentlife
The recommended prop for an Emax 2822 is 9" or 10". It needs to be that size to get anything like the motors maximum rated power on a 3s. I am using a 9x5 with both 2 and 3 blades on my 2822s.
The physically identical Emax 2812 (1500kV) will produce something like 150W with a 7x6 prop on a 3s.
quorneng is offline  
Old 06-20-2016, 07:16 AM
  #3  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

I know the recc'd is 9 - 10", but was hoping that model being light and motor allowed to spin up easy with smaller prop to be good.
She'd be flyable but slow.

I decided in the end to swap out for the 2826 2200kv with 7*5 prop.

Boy is that a difference ! Near rips model out of hand throttling up.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 06-25-2016, 01:33 AM
  #4  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,592
Default

Just found your thread.
I have a 2826 on mine with a 7x6 and it hums nicely.
The CF 2822 you had on there would tend to pick up dirt/grit every time it landed.
I use those bone coloured Hobby King props. (APC shape) Never broken one yet.
Panther is offline  
Old 07-01-2016, 08:01 PM
  #5  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

Here she is ...

First maiden ended up with me hunting in tall scrub for over half an hour in blazing sun !! You'd think a 1m RED wing would stand out in scrub land !! I must have walked past the actual point loads of times before I literally stepped on it !



She went in as far as I can determine NOT by battery moving as I originally thought but possibly due to a bad gear servo that on this second outing - had me going home to swap out the servos and return for a great session as here shows ...



I actually really like it ... but as I expected - needs to stay close in otherwise can catch you out not having a fuselage and tail !!

2826 2200kv + 7x5 APC ... seems good ... once I'm used to it may up to a 7x6 or a 6x6 ..

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-01-2016, 10:56 PM
  #6  
tobydogs
love to build!
 
tobydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nj usa
Posts: 3,692
Default

Nice flying wing Nigel,

Your right about keeping them close when flying line of sight, that wing of yours would take sweetly to fpv flying.

How fast do you think the HK-T is going? looks quick.
tobydogs is offline  
Old 07-02-2016, 06:50 AM
  #7  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

I reckon she's probably hitting about 70mph .....

Yes - there's plenty of vids that have it FPV.

I am thinking of hitching a key cam to it.

Today is a Children's Festival we are displaying at. Looking forward to an interesting day.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-15-2016, 02:48 PM
  #8  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default



mmmmm just think she ought to be a bit quicker than this.

nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-15-2016, 04:02 PM
  #9  
formontoya
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 157
Default

I'm late but I run the 2826-6 w/6x4 prop on my Assassin and it cuts some air nicely...pop a 6x4 on it and see what happens.
formontoya is offline  
Old 07-15-2016, 04:56 PM
  #10  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

Re-measured the amps draw on my 2826-2200kv and 7x5. I had below 30A when I set her up but must have made mistake as the video above definitely shows ESC pulsing. The results just now retested were 38A at WOT and explains the pulsing ..

I swapped out the 7x5 for an APC racing style 6x6 prop and amps dropped to 28A and thrust was very good. Letting the motor have a bit of freedom from the wide diameter seems to be the trick.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-15-2016, 05:18 PM
  #11  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

Originally Posted by formontoya View Post
I'm late but I run the 2826-6 w/6x4 prop on my Assassin and it cuts some air nicely...pop a 6x4 on it and see what happens.
Don't know the Assassin ... any link to it ?

I run 6x4 3 blade on my Polaris with a 2826 2200kv .... that's real nice.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 07-15-2016, 06:33 PM
  #12  
formontoya
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 157
Default

http://www.crashtesthobby.com/assassin-37.html

I learned to fly on an Assassin and this is the reason I purchased it:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RSa5DVzP8iA

I know it's a sin...
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1052384
formontoya is offline  
Old 08-01-2017, 08:15 PM
  #13  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

I decided to drag this out of retirement ... It's one of those models that you can soon tire of ...

Anyway .. my launch technique is hold port wing in left hand, arm across body ... give it about 70% throttle ... throw left handed Frisbee style ...

My usual prop is a 6x6 Hobby King High Speed prop .... but I decided to prop back to a 6x4 grey APC style ... still with the 3S 2250 Rhino LiPo ... and 30A ESC.

Flew nice ... but strange was that at full throttle she rolled SLOWER than at low throttle !
Put a couple of packs through her and then went home - I live across the road so no long trek !

Checked her out at home and found my port elevon horn had half broken out of its slot and allowed the port elevon to 'flex' at high speed.
Out came the PU glue and that was fixed.

Next outing - I decided I would fly my usual 3S and then a 4S .... and was actually the reason I propped back to the 6x4.

3S and off she goes ... now she's much better and flying on rails.

Next she's up with the 4S .. a 1600 size is about same weight as the 3S 2250 .. so its a direct swap. Launch at about 50% throttle and she went away as normal. Did a circuit just to make sure all OK, then gave her the gun ! WOW ! She tucked down and I had to fight to get her to pitch up while pulling throttle back.

As many know - wings like this have a reasonable amount of reflex in the elevons ... mine has about 5 degrees.

It appears that with the higher speed of the 4S system - airflow forces the EPP elevons to bend down either side of the control horn .... causing the pitch down !

Once I understood the character .. I then tried a few high throttle passes ... boy does she go - but the amount of UP stick to keep her straight and level is crazy. If you just relax for a nanosec - she's pitched down and heading for the deck !

Experiment completed - I think she will stay with 3S.

I plan to put FPV gear on her as she does fly slow if you want ... and she bounces well ... an ideal platform I think to earn my FPV Wings on.
The battery area has not only that humping great 3S pack .. but also 60gr of lead. So carrying FPV should not be a problem ... reduction of lead or battery to compensate.

I have to say - that its awakened the fun though of the Tek... I forgot how manoeuvrable these things are.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-01-2017, 08:21 PM
  #14  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

Did I post up the flight I had of this some time back ?

Hows this for spot landing ?



Here's the full flight vid :



Good day !!

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 08-16-2017, 12:11 AM
  #15  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,592
Default

I am upgrading my Tekky at the moment.
The motor, ESC and 3S battery remain the same.
I have upgraded the Emax servos to the 17 gram EMax metal gear ones as the smaller ones were borderline at high speed. (I actually burnt one out) That was an exciting moment...
I have removed the P1 gyro because I am fitting (have fitted) a Omnibus F3 flight controller and am working on auto launch with iNav.
It is not easy and I am struggling but I just need to take my time to get it right.
When it is set up correctly you can lay your TX on the ground and just throw the plane in the air. The FC senses the throw with the accelerometer and the FC takes over and starts the motor and levels the plane. Intriguing to watch.
I have a hospital appointment so it is going to have to wait a little while now. Might pop a couple of pics of progress on here later.

pics show the Flight controller, GPS and new servos fitted. I will also have Loiter and RTH eventually. (hence the GPS)
I am using a X4R SB Rx and SBus.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
20170816_082424.jpg (304.1 KB, 279 views)
File Type: jpg
20170816_082404.jpg (351.2 KB, 264 views)
File Type: jpg
20170816_082452.jpg (327.8 KB, 260 views)

Last edited by Panther; 08-16-2017 at 12:56 AM.
Panther is offline  
Old 09-03-2017, 12:31 AM
  #16  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,592
Default

Well at last I have it set up ready to flight test. Maybe today. It has been an uphill battle and a huge learning curve and there has not been much help via internet even though there are plenty of videos in regards to iNav, most are older versions and some commands have changed and CLIs differ so much that I couldn't use someone elses CLI to get a head start.
The compass was the hardest part for me getting it to calibrate correctly and working out my deviation and until everything was correct, the motor would not start. This project has been the biggest head scratcher in my whole life of modelling I reckon. I just hope I get the satisfaction of it working correctly for all the gray hairs I have earned.
So hang in there and I hope to report back before too long.
Panther is offline  
Old 09-03-2017, 08:03 AM
  #17  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

I have the 600mW Tx / camera FPV combo from Hobby King going onto my Tek.

Banggood are sending me their Android Rx adaptor so I can record the feedback while flying normally. That will allow me to check out everything before committing to Goggles.

Thinking about FC / GPS etc - I have all that coming for my dead Phantom 3 .... which will be converted to full aerobatic FPV machine .... I have read that the motors on the P3 are capable of higher speed than DJI regulate them to .... plus putting an open source FC system in should open up the performance envelope !

My P3Pro will still give me camera form.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 09-22-2017, 09:24 AM
  #18  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,592
Default

Interested in that Android Rx adapter Lionel. Have you got it yet?
Panther is offline  
Old 02-18-2018, 10:13 PM
  #19  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,592
Default

Chucked the F3 flight controller as far as I could. My flying buddy and I had no success with those stupid things.
I have now fitted my FPV gear in the Tekky along with a A3 so I can use auto levelling for the FPV.
First flights this week I hope.
Nothing fancy, I didn't bother fitting current/volt etc. Just a basic 500mW Aomway VTX and Runcam Eagle cam.
Not all that thrilled with the Runcam Eagle either. I reckon my old #16 Keycam gave me a better picture through the goggles.
I will be using my Quanum Cyclops goggles as it gives a far superior and much larger pic than the Fat Shark goggles I have.
Panther is offline  
Old 02-19-2018, 08:07 AM
  #20  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

The Android Rx adaptor works a treat !

Excellent reception.

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 02-19-2018, 09:59 AM
  #21  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,592
Default

Thanks Nigel
Mine never turned up. Banggood refunded me. I will order another one after chinese new year etc and may have a better chance of getting it. So many things ordered in Nov/Dec just don't make it.
Panther is offline  
Old 02-25-2018, 01:07 AM
  #22  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,592
Default

Had a successful FPV flight on Saturday. The Teksumo performed perfectly. Looking forward to many more flights.
Panther is offline  
Old 02-25-2018, 08:47 AM
  #23  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

Originally Posted by Panther View Post
Had a successful FPV flight on Saturday. The Teksumo performed perfectly. Looking forward to many more flights.
Sounds good ...

Question is ... did you launch and land in FPV ?

Nigel
solentlife is offline  
Old 02-25-2018, 10:23 PM
  #24  
Panther
Super Contributor
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South East Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,592
Default

No Nigel. I hand launched and a buddy held the TX while I slipped on the Goggles and then flew until I ran out of battery... oops... I handed my buddy the TX while I ripped my googles off but he had landed it by then. The time will come but it will take a while for me.
I need to set up my A3 self level a little better. It loses height in SL mode so I need to reset the level.
Panther is offline  
Old 02-26-2018, 09:07 AM
  #25  
solentlife
Super Contributor
Thread Starter
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 12,555
Default

I only asked because all the FPV guys I know - they all say and I can understand - that landing and take-off are HARD !!

Some of them have programmed in landing .. all they have to do is control throttle once lined up.
Its funny - because a couple of them are drone racers as well and think nothing of screaming onto the ground in FPV. But when they fly their fixed wing - that changes !

I have a 450 set-up for FPV - just needs programming and testing. What delays it is the goggles ... I bought decent set as well - Eachine VRD2 Pro with diversity.. (cough cough !! I'm a scrooge and surprised myself at paying out !) .... but I cannot wear them - my glasses don't fit and even when I force on - the focus range is not enough.

I have another FPV camera set - and will fit to my Tek ... which was original purpose of other FPV gear - but when my DJI P3S went swimming - decided to gut the P3 and create a 450 quad.

I must sort that 450 out ... AND get the Tek fitted out ....

Nigel
solentlife is offline  

Quick Reply: HK Teksumo ... questions


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.21218 seconds with 14 queries