Warbird Electrics Discuss e-powered warbirds in here!

Parkzone Spitfrire from Parkzone t28

Old 10-08-2008, 07:46 PM
mgb

Default Parkzone Spitfrire from Parkzone t28

Hi all,

I am a newbie to the forum and relative newbe to flying since converting from helis ! I started with a supercub and after about 10 flights moved to the t28 which I love..... I now fly on high settings and am happy to loop, roll and land ! do you think a jump to the spitfire is acheivable ? will it be much faster, more of a handful ? how do the run times compare ? are the hand launches an issue as I am currently taking off from the ground ?

thanks for any input.. sorry for the type on the title !

Last edited by mgb; 10-08-2008 at 07:47 PM. Reason: typo !
Old 10-08-2008, 08:26 PM
Desolas

Going from the T28 to the Spitfire would be a step down, IMO. If your sick of the T28 and are going to use the parts, building a higher horsepower Spitfire would be achievable but the brushed motor and NIMH power that the Spitfire has makes it a little ... underwhelming ... especially compared to the T28 which is 3S lipo and brushless. The T28 has enough power to get itself out of trouble, for example you can pull an inverted loop from a reasonably slow starting speed. You cannot do this with the Spitfire, it does not have the ability to power itself out of trouble. I emphasize on this because it is how I personally lost two of them when I was new.

If you are looking for a "more exciting" plane to fly, you probably won't be happy with the Spitfire. If you want more of a good looking scale plane that is inexpensive - it fits the bill.

Hand launching them is pretty easy but takes a little practice. You need to launch them under full power and really chuck them into the air as they are kind of heavy and under powered. Once moving it's a fun plane to fly though.

In my opinion though, the T28 is way more fun to fly.
Old 10-08-2008, 10:02 PM
DetroitHawk
Super Awesome