Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Mounting Smaller motors (250 and 300 size)

Old 08-29-2011, 04:16 AM
  #1  
payne9999
That's gonna leave a mark
Thread Starter
 
payne9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 468
Default Mounting Smaller motors (250 and 300 size)

I am doing my first twin project and it will be a rather light plane. So far I have been using 400, 450 and 480 size motors. These motors all have very similar mounting plates.

The Park 250 and 300 motors have the shaft coming out the back of the motor (where the mounting plate goes) and an annoying prop saver on the front. Above the 300 size all the motors appear to have the shaft protruding out the front of the motor.

The manual that comes with the Park 300 has a prop adapter but does not explain how to convert it to a prop adapter from the prop saver.

I am fairly new to electrics and maybe it is obvious but I don't see it. I don't get how the smaller motors are supposed to be mounted.

Thanks,

Dave
payne9999 is offline  
Old 08-31-2011, 03:39 AM
  #2  
Dr Kiwi
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,726
Default

Park 300 is configured for mounting in front of a firewall... use the prop saver....

....or behind the firewall, using the collet adapter on the exposed shaft (replace the O-ring screws with set screws)
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Old 08-31-2011, 01:26 PM
  #3  
payne9999
That's gonna leave a mark
Thread Starter
 
payne9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 468
Default

So, mounting to the back of the firewall, I am assuming this means the motor mount box needs to be open on the bottom (it can't therefore be a 5 sided box) so the motor can be mounted from behind. Also the motor mount box would need to be long enough to accomadate the motor overall length (including the shaft).

I am also thinking that in a twin nacelle there would have to be an access hatch in the nacelle for motor access.


Thanks,

Dave
payne9999 is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 12:31 AM
  #4  
Dr Kiwi
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,726
Default

Yes, you'd need access to fit the motor in the box initially... mount screws would go through the firewall from the front...length would need to accommodate the "prop saver" end of the shaft. Once the motor is in, you could seal up the box with an access hatch.
Dr Kiwi is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.06418 seconds with 12 queries