WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   ParkFlyers (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   help!!! super cub went out of control!!! any ideas? (https://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51484)

huntjulien 11-11-2009 02:11 AM

help!!! super cub went out of control!!! any ideas?
 
okay so tonight i was flying my super cub with my lights on it which were running off of a 9volt battery. i was about to do a loop when i realized i had no control over the throttle. it wouldnt change speeds even if i had the throttle stick on the transmitter all the way down. i ended up having to kinda crash land it in the grass although my plane was fine wen i picked it up the prop started spinning again. i ended up unplugging my 11.1v lipo 1300mah from it to kill it. while i was flying i tried quickly turning off the transmitter but that didnt help...any ideas what happened?
ps i think it might be the fact i was running it on a lipo. it was a original cub so i just removed the jumper
????????????????

flydiver 11-11-2009 02:43 AM

If the lights were on a totally different system and it did that then the RX/ESC probably went bonkers. Had nothing to do with the lipo if you pulled the jumper. All the jumper does is change the low voltage cut-off to be appropriate for lipo.

Unfortunately these are not high quality electronics. I've noticed a pretty high failure rate on the RX/ESC in the last few months. I think a poor batch got out. I'd call HobbyZone and discuss it with them. They are often quite good about it if you are poised and reasonable.

constantCrash 11-11-2009 02:09 PM

sounds like interference to me. somebody else in the area might have been driving an RC car or another PZ plane. I've had it happen before.

flydiver 11-11-2009 04:58 PM

If it only did it there and is now fine, interference may be the cause.
If it still does it, replace the RX/ESC unit.

newjak 11-11-2009 05:17 PM

Was this the first time flying with the lights? It could be interference from the transformer that is driving your lighting system.

huntjulien 11-11-2009 07:16 PM

well it was really late so i dont think anyone else was flying at that time... well im pretty sure they werent. and i just had a 9volt plugged staight into the lights...

huntjulien 11-11-2009 08:31 PM

okay well i just went to try it out and im sad to say the receiver if all burnt up. i plugged in my lipo and was happy to see my prop not spinning. i check to see if i had elevator and rudder control, i did. then i slowly raised the throttle stick with nothing to happen. i smelt a little burnt rubber/plastic in the fuse so i opened up the receiver to find a little black plastic and metal thing burnt up. im not sure wat its called but i think i know what it does. i will go to radio shack and try to buy another one or i might just wait for christmas and when i hopefully get my dx6i with ar6200 i can just throw that in there with no worry's. o and it will then become a snow flyer with a brushless

flydiver 11-11-2009 09:09 PM

I think this is where you call up HobbyZone and explain the story to them nicely. There's a fair chance you get a new RX out of it. (877) 504-0233

huntjulien 11-14-2009 01:37 AM

okay so iv called hobbyzone and they said they couldnt send me a free one bcuz i purchased it from a friend... i understand that so i was not mad or anything... i did have a idea tho. because i want to keep flying on lipo's could i buy a receiver for the SC lp??? i would like to still you the same transmitter from before and same plane but could i swap the receiver??? any ideas?

flydiver 11-14-2009 02:33 AM

It's the same receiver. The LP just has an EC3 connector and the lipo jumper pulled.

huntjulien 11-14-2009 05:48 AM

not wat hobbyzone said...
 
okay well wen i was talking to the guy from hobbyzone i explained to him wat happened then he explained to me the jumper does multiple things. he explained that by removing it doesnt solve all my problems... thanx alot for everyones help tho, it honestly was a big help even if my problem for the moment has yet to be resolved:)

All American 12-02-2009 01:20 AM


Originally Posted by huntjulien (Post 661270)
okay well wen i was talking to the guy from hobbyzone i explained to him wat happened then he explained to me the jumper does multiple things. he explained that by removing it doesnt solve all my problems... thanx alot for everyones help tho, it honestly was a big help even if my problem for the moment has yet to be resolved:)

Did you get your issue resolved?

huntjulien 12-02-2009 04:25 AM

to a degree...
 
well my solution was buy a dx6i with ar6200... it was best for me seeing as in the future i have big plans... im broke and don't have a job so i convinced my mom to get it for me for christmas. this means i only have a month to wait...woot!

ministeve2003 12-02-2009 05:28 AM


Originally Posted by huntjulien (Post 661270)
he explained to me the jumper does multiple things. he explained that by removing it doesnt solve all my problems... :)

Can You elaborate on what he said the jumper does other than setting LVC for Lipo?

Also noticed you said inflight you turned the tx off... Very bad idea... if you were getting interferance, turning it off would make you loose complete control of the plane....

SK

huntjulien 12-02-2009 06:57 AM

yeah but you have to understand i was in a park late at night so most were probably asleep i honestly didn't think it was interference. plus wouldn't it all be messed up not just my throttle?
honestly i cant remember to clearly now... all i do remember was him saying "well you know the jumper has a lot of purposes..."

All American 12-02-2009 02:25 PM


Originally Posted by huntjulien (Post 667056)
well my solution was buy a dx6i with ar6200... it was best for me seeing as in the future i have big plans... im broke and don't have a job so i convinced my mom to get it for me for christmas. this means i only have a month to wait...woot!

A new receiver would have cost less, but replacing the stock electronics with a hobby grade radio system is the best step forward in this hobby.

philipa_240sx 12-02-2009 06:40 PM


Originally Posted by All American (Post 667181)
A new receiver would have cost less, but replacing the stock electronics with a hobby grade radio system is the best step forward in this hobby.

Did the exact same thing with my PZ Slo-V, gutted the electronics once they failed and went Spektrum DSM2. I never looked back...

rcers 12-02-2009 06:50 PM


Originally Posted by huntjulien (Post 667096)
yeah but you have to understand i was in a park late at night so most were probably asleep i honestly didn't think it was interference. plus wouldn't it all be messed up not just my throttle?
honestly i cant remember to clearly now... all i do remember was him saying "well you know the jumper has a lot of purposes..."

You are correct interference will impact ALL channels. The system sends channel 1, then 2, then 3 and so on then back to one. It does this very quickly.

One way to know if it is interference is it will impact ALL the channels not just one.

Suspect your ESC.

Mike

ministeve2003 12-02-2009 09:03 PM

no problem, I was just wondering...

Good Luck with the changeover... it's prob best anyways...

SK

huntjulien 12-02-2009 09:43 PM

yup im really pumped to mod up my cub... i have looked around and it seems everyone has a variety of motors on there cub...
im looking for anyone who would like to add to this thread about what they think is the best motor for the cub.
also what do you think is best for me.
i need to buy it from my LHS which gets alot of there product from horizonhobby.com so if its available on there site i would be very happy.
ps i want lots of power with a low cost...

colvid 12-08-2009 03:48 AM

Went out of control
 
Have had two different Super Cubs get into the air and suddenly go out of control(Would not respond). Both times, I was using a Spectrum DX6. Have a DX7 and thus far have not had this problem.... May not be significant but just wonder....................

flydiver 12-08-2009 04:00 AM

If you 'upgraded' to Spectrum and had 3S + 4 servos, maybe you are another person afflicted with the dreaded Spectrum Brown Out. The DX7 would only be less susceptible as the DSM2 receivers are newer than the older DSM (DX6) and would reboot faster.

Spectrum cures everything.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:39 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.

Page generated in 0.05470 seconds with 9 queries